PokeMap: An Attempt at Having Fun

So recently, I have been taking a lot of entrepreneurship classes, and have come to discover that entrepreneurship is all about making money. From the first question out of a VCs mouth (“How do you monetize this?”) to what majority of the classes focus on, it all seems very drab. I came to the realization that I really don’t like thinking about money first, and thinking about how to make money off of something. Instead, I feel that I enjoy creating things for the fun of creating them. Who cares if it exists already, eh?

So in that spirit, a friend of mine and I have been working on something called PokeMap. The premise of the game is essentially that you, the real life in this 3D world called Earth (I mean you, physically you), are Ash. While walking around campus, you may encounter Pokemon that happen to be in your path. You can fight them, capture them, and train them to become the ultimate Pokemon master on your campus. And most importantly, instead of Gyms (the place where you fight the major boss trainers), you have a leaderboard of Champions, and you can improve your standing on the leaderboard by beating the people above you in Pokemon duels. In case it isn’t clear, I mean other real people also playing the game on campus. The only catch is that to duel them you have to be in the vicinity of each other. We hope this will encourage people to explore new places, find some excitement in their daily walk, and help ease the passing of those moments where you are standing in line and having nothing to do. Plus, it sounded fun.

Below are a few snapshots of our progress!

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 4.17.03 PMScreen Shot 2014-04-13 at 4.17.08 PMScreen Shot 2014-04-13 at 4.17.32 PM

 

Let me know what you think, and if you have any suggestions! Also, if someone else has already done this, it would be awesome if you could tell me in the comments, or in an email. Hopefully, I can copy some other people’s features, and learn some more! If you have any questions, feel free to reach me either at my email or at http://qurious.info/profile/?username=abhi@gmail.com.

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

