Why we all need a big brother.

Older siblings are awesome. They go through life one step ahead of you, face some of the potholes before you do, and seem to know what they are going to do. They seem to have it all figured out, while the rest of us are meandering our way through life, either following or avoiding the path they laid before us.

Being the eldest of three, I often feel lost, and in desperate need of help. Without an elder brother to guide me, its like walking blind through a forest. You are bound to trip eventually. This semester one of the weirdest things happened to me. As I was sitting on a plane and talking to someone I had worked with in the past, I was actually learning from him how to go forward in life.

Most people are hard to trust, are hard to take honestly, but I am honored to say that I have definitely found a few individuals this semester who I feel that I can trust with almost anything. They are always super kind, always have an open ear, and are always that one step ahead so they can tell you what to do and what not to. The best part is that they don’t judge me for not knowing. They are like my big brothers. When I don’t know the answers, when I don’t know what I am doing, they help me out, and make sure that I don’t fall down.

 

I am super grateful for their help. Its comforting to know that someone is looking out for your best interests and willing to be there to help guide you forward.

Leave a Reply

